Home > Uncategorized > Renault Have Made A Big Shiny Mood Film And Put It On The Telly-Box

Renault Have Made A Big Shiny Mood Film And Put It On The Telly-Box

I won’t pass comment on it here – largely because ALS is supposed to be less sweary than its associated twitter feed. I will say, however, that hard as it may be to believe, the Keane soundtrack is far from being the thing I hate most about it. At least it isn’t fucking Snow Patrol.

Anyway. There’s a ‘Comments’ section for a reason, people. Let me know what you think.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. January 4, 2010 at 8:26 am

    Truly awful. Is it too optimistic to hope this will be the worst ad of the year?

    • January 4, 2010 at 12:09 pm

      Give it time, Tom. Give it time.

  2. January 4, 2010 at 10:07 am

    Why bother making an ad when you can just run the mood film?
    Love the excellent chap at 0.41 – feeling smug about his Renault.

    • January 4, 2010 at 12:09 pm

      It’s the last 30″ that does it for me. I was worried they were going to forget to put in any children or leaves, which would be a horrific oversight in an ad with an environmental message. Thankfully, they saved it at the last.

  3. January 4, 2010 at 10:58 am

    Dear me.
    I’m not normally one for pimping work, but seeing as we’re discussing car ads.

    • January 4, 2010 at 12:08 pm

      Funnily enough, I was discussing good car ads with some chaps here this morning, and this was just about all we could come up with. Are there any others out there that I’ve missed?

  4. January 4, 2010 at 11:08 am

    That’s 1 min 32 seconds of my life I will never get back…Now made all the more painful knowing I’ve listened to more Keane than any normal person should.

    • January 4, 2010 at 12:08 pm

      Sorry, Mr K. I should really have put some kind of warning up-front.

  5. Lucybee
    January 4, 2010 at 12:33 pm

    Here’s a flipping good car ad: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jUsCQoDCXoY&feature=related

    That Renault one made me do a little bit of sick in my mouth.

    • January 4, 2010 at 2:26 pm

      That’s really lovely. Although it made me want to play with wooden spiders on the beach, rather than buy a BMW. But I’m not sure an ad’s every going to convince me to buy a BMW. Not after all that Joy bollocks.

  6. matt
    January 4, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    “has there ever been a finer creation than the motorcar…”

    Umm, Penicillin?

    • January 4, 2010 at 2:25 pm

      Creations that are finer than the motorcar is a good game to play. As is exceptions to the ‘it’s played a part in every revolution’ rule. Penicillin was on my list, along with fire and the wheel. Any more for any more?

      There is a serious side to all of this – I guarantee that nobody Agency-side actually wanted to run this film (which apparently has previously been used on the Renault website, as a mood film/corporate message) and I doubt there was much appetite for it Client-side. And yet they continue. Why, car manufacturers? WHY?

  7. January 4, 2010 at 9:03 pm

    Having worked for said manufacturer as well as the agency behind the ad I can say that mr adlandsuit you are quite possibly correct… the ad was probably championed by somebody across the channel with a run it or get fired order.

    With regards to creations that are finer than the motorcar; given my recent knack of car killing I would have to vote for the humble pedal bike! simple yet effective transport… self propulsion rocks!

  8. Nick
    January 22, 2010 at 1:29 pm

    Penicillin aside, I thought Ewan was all about the motorbike?! So his first line is bullshit…and then…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

