Home > Uncategorized > A Useful Organisational Tool

A Useful Organisational Tool

I am a massive geek. As such, I created my own desktop background, so as (a) to be more organised, and (b) to make it patently clear to my new colleagues just what a massive geek I am. I know I stole the idea from somebody, but it was so long ago I have no idea who it was. It might have been Russell. But it might not have been. Many thanks to whoever it was.

Regardless, I find it extremely useful, and whether or not you like to admit it, you would to. What’s more, stealing this one and using it is slightly less geeky than creating your own. You’re all very welcome.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. eightyg
    June 22, 2010 at 2:20 pm

    A useful organizational tool?
    the very definition of an Adland Suit, non?

  2. tomgooday
    June 22, 2010 at 8:19 pm

    Love this, very useful!

  3. June 23, 2010 at 9:25 am

    You are a massive geek. I salute you.

    If you haven’t already done so, you may want to check out David Allen’s Getting Things Done. It’s the kind of anally retentive yet very useful set of principles that you would like. I did.

  4. July 19, 2010 at 12:43 pm

    here is some idea to make it a bit more colourful.

    Layered Desktop

    Have been using it for a while now. neat stuff.

  5. August 11, 2010 at 8:38 am

    Sad beyond belief.
    Not that you’ve done that.
    But that you’re only a year behind my Head of Art, who hand drew much the same on a sheet of A3, scanned it in and drops the docs/folders within his scribbled loops.
    I bet it looks cooler than yours.
    What am I saying? Of course it does.
    Personally, I don’t need a desktop like that, as I do no work of my own.
    But you knew that already.
    I feel another breakfast/booze coming on.

  6. brandplans
    October 21, 2010 at 4:24 pm

    I LOVE this. I WORSHIP this. And David Allen. And Mark Forster. And that guy who writes 43 Folders. I am a geek too. You are a better geek than me. Are you married?

    However (you *knew* there was going to be a ‘however’ didn’t you?), how about tweaking ‘watch’ into ‘see’? That way you get time to schedule your friends, and STILL be grammatically correct.

  7. Richard
    June 1, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    If you’re on Windows check out Fences – http://www.stardock.com/products/fences/ – you can use it to perform a similar task without the need to change your wallpaper; and you can double click the desktop to hide everything, leaving you with a Zen like calm.

    Not sure if there’s a Mac equivalent, if there is I’d be interested to know.

  8. September 27, 2011 at 2:31 pm

    This is cool. I guess this a good idea to consolidate in my Free Desktop Wallpaper. Whether or not this concept is yours, it doesn’t matter ‘coz I’m sure a lot of geek and wallpaper fanatic out there will use this too.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

